JIC Open Forum – 9 June 2021

19 May

Transcending national boundaries and organizations, the Joint Initiative Council’s standards development organizations work collaboratively to provide global, coordinated—not competitive—standards that address real-world healthcare issues. The toolbox for the infrastructure of immunization is available and has been continuously updated to meet the latest requirements. This openForum is providing an insight on the power of standards as providing interoperability and efficiency, even when national or regional implementations seem to be different. Are they really different?

Register for the Open Forum

Morning Session – Infrastructure to reliably capture and share immunity data / time is now 

(AEDT 5pm-6:30pm |PST 10pm-11:30pm | EST 1am-2:30am | CET 7am-8:30am)

  • Introduction – Ulrike Kreysa, Chair JIC, GS1 Global Office, Belgium. High level – present the use case
  • Implementation: the EU perspective (Konstantin Hyppönen). One size does not fit all
  • Capture data: LOINC, SNOMED, GS1 (lead speaker: Jane Miller, SNOMED Int).
  • Manage data: HL7, ISO, CEN, IHE (lead speaker: Giorgio Cangioli, HL7).
  • Share: CDISC, IHE, HL7 (IPS) (lead speaker: José Teixeira, IHE).
  • Trust: ISO, CEN, HL7 (authentication, validity, provenance, etc.) (lead speaker: Matthias Pocs, CEN).

 

Afternoon Session – Infrastructure to reliably capture and share immunity data / time is now 

(AEDT 3am-4:30am | PST 8am-09:30am | EST 11am-12:30pm | CET 5pm-6:30pm)

  • Introduction – Mike Glickman, Chair ISO TC 215. High level – present the use case
  • Capture data: LOINC, SNOMED, GS1 (lead speaker: Marjorie Rallins, LOINC).
  • Manage data: HL7, ISO, CEN, IHE (lead speaker: Rob Hausam, HL7).
  • Share: CDISC, IHE, HL7 (IPS) (lead speaker: Derek Ritz, IHE).
  • Trust: ISO, CEN, HL7 (authentication, validity, provenance, etc.) (lead speaker: TBD).
  • Implementation: the US perspective (Speaker to be confirmed). One size does not fit all

 

Other articles

Label_82304-2

Health and wellness apps: New international guidelines to help to sort the best from the rest

1 September

From counting calories to tracing COVID-19, there are hundreds of thousands of health and wellness apps on the market, and the thirst for them is only growing. However, many have access to highly sensitive personal information whilst others may offer advice that is not always supported by scientific evidence. In order to evaluate the quality and reliability of such apps effectively, a new technical … Continued

CEN ISO TS 82304-2 ‘Health software – Quality and reliability of health and wellness apps’ has been approved. Publication is expected in August 2021

14 July

The CEN and ISO committees on Health informatics as well as IEC/TC 62A have approved CEN ISO 82304-2 in ballot. 95% of the participating countries voted positive. The project team has resolved the editorial comments and decided to submit the document to ISO for publication. The ballot also proposed technical comments. The project team decided … Continued

Second openForum of the Joint Initiative Council: Recordings published

15 June

The second openForum of the Joint Initiative Council was held on Wednesday 9 June 2021. Various speakers from the participating standards developing organisations focused on the infrastructure for the reliable capture and sharing of immunity data. In the morning session Konstantin Hyppönen from the European Commission explained the implementation choices made for the European Digital … Continued